After having created my first blog a little more than 1 year ago (http://myforeignhymns.blogspot.com/), my reasons for maintaining it have somewhat changed…I created my blog in my first, that I hope will be of many, address change to a foreign country, as a way of sharing my experiences with the friends I was leaving behind. After spending a month in Siena and 10 months in London, I’m back in my hometown, in what I hope will not be a long time, just until I find another address…

However, I’ve got so used to sharing my experiences and I keep on leaving more friends behind as I go, that I started to miss my blog! But, the experiences that were once foreign, now also happen in my home country. Adding to that, the London experience, which mostly inhabited my previous blog, was such an amazing experience that I want to keep it safe there…

So, here I start a new blog…the name I chose comes from the fact that cinema occupies a big chunk of my life and this was one of the films I watched lately that as left a bigger mark. Also, I’m precisely living in my splendour in the grass, and though I hope it will last forever, William Wordsworth poem reminds us “Though nothing can bring back the hour/Of splendour in the grass, of glory in the flower;/We will grieve not, rather find/Strength in what remains behind“, and here I will leave a telling of what may later give me strength.🙂

All the pictures in this blog are mine, with the exception of film stills, cartoons and whenever specified.

Depois de ter criado o meu primeiro blog há pouco mais de um ano (http://myforeignhymns.blogspot.com/), as motivações para a sua manutenção foram um pouco alteradas…Criei o blog na minha primeira, do que eu esperava e ainda espero serem muitas, mudança de morada para um país estrangeiro, como forma de partilhar experiências com os amigos que deixava para trás. Depois de passar um mês em Siena e 10 meses em Londres, neste momento estou de regresso à minha terra Natal, naquilo que espero ser um espaço curto de tempo, apenas enquanto não encontro outras moradas…

Entretanto, habituei-me de tal forma a partilhar as minhas experiências e aumentei o número de amigos que vou deixando para trás, que começo a sentir falta do meu blog! Mas as experiências que antes eram estrangeiras, agora passam também bastante pelo meu país. Além disso, a experiência em Londres, que foi a que povoou maioritariamente o meu blog anterior, foi uma experiência tão grandiosa, que a quero deixar lá guardada e não a poluir com demais considerações menores…

Por isso, aqui começo um novo blog…o nome que escolhi provém do facto do cinema ocupar grande parte da minha vida e deste ter sido um dos últimos filmes que vi que mais me marcou. A juntar a isso, vivo precisamente o meu esplendor na relva e embora espere que o mesmo dure eternamente, o poema de William Wordsworth lembra-nos que “Ainda que nada possa devolver o momento/Do esplendor na relva, da glória na flor,/Não nos lamentaremos, inspirados no que fica para trás” e aqui vou deixar um relato daquilo que mais tarde me poderá inspirar.🙂

Todas as imagens deste blog são minhas, com a excepção de imagens de filmes, cartoons, e sempre que assim o especifique.