Tags

, ,

Lately, maybe because I’ve been spending most of my time home alone applying for research grants, I’ve been dedicating myself to watching documentaries about varied people. Today I want to talk about two of those…

The first is a documentary about Woody Allen done by PBS in a series entitled American Masters. I truly admire Woody Allen’s work as a director and screenplay writer and I truly enjoyed getting to know about his creative process, his opinion about himself and his work and to hear  other people talking about him. With this documentary I’ve reinforced my idea of him as a nice and funny guy, contradicting what is usually said about him!🙂

The other documentary, which I’ve just finished watching, is about Bill Cunningham (Bill Cunningham New York). I didn’t know him until I’ve read about him in Sartorialist a short while ago. Bill Cunningham is “street style” photographer, a gentleman in his 80s who truly loves his job, sometimes to the excess. More than a documentary about fashion, it’s a documentary about people that managed to move me and that I reccomend!

Ultimamente, talvez por passar grande parte do meu tempo em casa, sozinha, a concorrer a bolsas, tenho dedicado o meu tempo a ver documentários sobre pessoas. Hoje, apetece-me falar de dois…

O primeiro é sobre o Woody Allen, argumentista e realizador cujo trabalho eu admiro. É um documentário do canal americano PBS, que tem uma série intitulada American Masters onde várias figuras americanas são documentadas. Gostei muito de ver o processo criativo do Woody, a sua opinião sobre si mesmo e sobre a sua obra, e ouvir as outras pessoas a falar sobre ele. Com este documentário reforcei a minha ideia, que contraria o que ouço muitas vezes dizer…o Woody Allen é uma pessoa mesmo simpática e divertida!🙂

O outro documentário, que acabei de ver, é sobre o Bill Cunningham, pessoa que desconhecia até me ter sido dado a conhecer pelo Sartorialist, há bem pouco tempo. O Bill Cunningham é um fotógrafo de “moda de rua”, um senhor na casa dos 80, que tem uma paixão invejável e por vezes até demasiada por aquilo que faz. Mais do que um documentário sobre moda, é um documentário sobre pessoas que me conseguiu emocionar e que recomendo!