Tags

,

This period of free time I’ve been living has given me the opportunity to get my tv series up to date…I’m going to highlight two of them, one has already finished and the other one was renewed for the 3rd season. The Wire and Treme are both from the same creator and are addictive as hell!

The Wire takes place in Baltimore, among the criminality brought on by drug trafficking and police and politic corruption…if I didn’t have any particular will to visit Baltimore, the series made not want to go there…

Treme is set in New Orleans, right after hurricane Katrina. If what I knew about New Orleans had to do with Mardi Gras, Spring Breaks and girls showing their boobs, I now know a New Orleans that has a strong musical tradition, with a truly great connection to Carnival, but that doesn’t really have a lot to do with the girls with their boobs showing, but with some much more compelling things like the 2nd line and the Indian parade…Contrary to The Wire, Treme instilled in me the will to visit New Orleans and really get to know it, in spite of all the destruction the hurricane has brought.

Este período de tempo livre que tenho tido serviu para pôr uma série de séries que fui deixando para trás em dia…Vou destacar duas séries, uma já terminada e outra que foi renovada para a terceira série. The Wire e Treme são ambas do mesmo criador e são viciantes como tudo!

The Wire tem lugar em Baltimore, pelo meio da criminalidade relacionada com o tráfico de droga e currupção policial e política…se já não tinha nenhuma vontade especial de ir a Baltimore, ainda tenho menos hoje…

Treme passa-se em New Orleans, logo a seguir ao furacão Katrina. Se o que eu sabia sobre New Orleans se relacionava com a Mardi Gras, Spring Breaks e gajas com mamas à mostra, fiquei a conhecer uma New Orleans com uma tradição musical imensa e maravilhosa, com uma ligação ao Carnaval realmente grande, mas que não passa tanto pelas gajas de mamas à mostra, mas por coisas muito mais interessantes como a 2nd line e o cortejo dos índios…Esta sim deu-me vontade de conhecer New Orleans, apesar da destruição que o furacão trouxe.