Yes, I am! But I’ve been meeting people with doubts about it…For three times people have openly mistaken me for a non Portuguese. Although it’s true it always happened in situations when foreigners are welcome, it still makes me think.

The first time was in a couchsurfing event, where one of the Portuguese approached me in English to ask me what I was thinking about Portugal…as it had never happened before, I had an astonished reaction…”But I’m Portuguese!!!”

The second time was in November, when I was returning from a trip to Madrid. In Porto’s airport I was having some trouble charging the transport card and the guy who was helping people addressed me in English asking if I needed help and I, having returned not so long before from 10 months leaving in London, answered him in English…and only after chatting for a bit did I remember…”But I’m Portuguese!!!” Fact to each he reacted with extreme unbelief.

The third time happened in the International Day of Monuments and Places. The afternoon guide glanced over the people he was guiding and said…”It seems I’ll have to guide you in English, or at least in the two languages”…he asked someone else in the group where she was from and she was German, but understood Portuguese…and then e asked me…”But I’m Portuguese!!!”

What do you think…Am I so un-Portuguese looking?

Sim, sou! Mas tenho encontrado muita gente com dúvidas…Já por três vezes que portugueses me confundiram como estrangeira abertamente. Se bem que sempre em contextos em que os estrangeiros são bem-vindos, não deixa de me dar que pensar.

A primeira vez foi num encontro de couchsurfing, em que um dos portugueses se dirigiu a mim em inglês para me perguntar o que eu estava a achar de Portugal…como foi a primeira vez que tal coisa me aconteceu, tive alta reacção de espanto…”Mas eu sou portuguesa!!!”

A segunda vez foi em Novembro, quando regressava de uma viagem a Madrid e no aeroporto do Porto estava a ter alguns problemas em carregar o andante. O senhor que lá estava a ajudar veio ter comigo e perguntou-me em inglês se precisava de ajuda e eu, como tinha voltado não há muito tempo de uma estadia de 10 meses em Londres, respondi em inglês e só depois de um bocado de conversa é que me lembrei…”Mas eu sou portuguesa!!!” Facto ao qual ele reagiu com extrema incredulidade.

A terceira aconteceu no Dia Internacional dos Monumentos e Sítios. O senhor guia da tarde olhou em volta para o seu público e disse…”Parece que vou ter de fazer a visita em inglês, ou pelo menos nas duas línguas”…perguntou a uma outra pessoa do grupo de onde ela era e ela disse ser alemã, mas falava português e depois perguntou-me a mim… “Mas eu sou portuguesa!!!”

Que acham vocês…sou assim tão esquisita!!!