Tags

Why didn’t I fall in love with Paris?

Having in mind that I travelled alone, and that my facilitate the accomplishment of touristic objectives, it makes it more difficult to absorb the places due to not having anyone to share them with. I also say I didn’t live that much at night, period in which I think the city must be more beautiful. I stress that what didn’t fascinate me doesn’t have anything to do with lack of beauty of the streets, buildings, touristic places, but…

As I was advised before going and I heard more than once during my stay, Paris is not as romantic as in the movies! It’s not the Paris we see on film, nor the one we read on books, and that’s disappointing…

But there’s more…

The first and more noticeable is the insecurity I felt. I had a bad experience right on the first day…my hostel was in Montmartre, it seems one of the worst areas of the city…once I left my things in the hostel, I went for a stroll, at night, and I felt extremely uncomfortable! But if it had stopped there, it would have been fine…but I felt insecure in many more places and it must be the place where I was approached in the streets by strange people saying “Vous est trés belle” and “Parlez vous Français?” and then tried to sell me shit…it wasn’t a good experience for a girl alone!

My idea about Parisians wasn’t the best before going, it has even gotten worst…A lot of impolite people  around (with the exception of 3 situations – the guy who sold me the ticket at Museé D’Orsay, the girl who sold me the ticket at Fondation Cartier-Bresson and one policeman whom I asked for directions). I have basic knowledge of French and who can perfectly go around doing touristic tasks and noone was nice and polite with me! To make things worse, I have to tell you about my falling down episode…I fell down in a very busy Avenue des Champs-Élysées in a very spectacular way and noone, I mean noone, came to see if I was OK!!!

An extremely expensive city! You pay everything at very high prices…museums, foundations, galleries…food at the price of gold no matter how basic…the most expensive and worst hostel I’ve ever stayed in Europe!!! And everything under the most outrageous excuse – “We’re in Paris and things are expensive here” – the quality itself doesn’t matter at all!

It’s a city with a large foreign community, but not well integrated in society at all. It’s something expected if you think about French emigration policies and Sarcozy’s will of straightening them even more (don’t know if Hollande will be any different), but I didn’t expect you could feel it so much in the streets!

There are pretty parks with some green areas, but you’re forbidden of seating in the grass and you can’t take animals or bikes inside!

It’s a city with an immensely huge amount of traffic…the cars and the fog ruined almost all my pics:/

I didn’t give up on Paris yet. It must be one of the places on earth where you can find more art for square metre and a lot of it was left unvisited. Next time I go back, I’ll do it either in Autumn or Winter, seasons that I think are more romantic, at least through my eyes. I’ll live more at night and I’ll flea from the touristy places I felt I needed to visit this time around…

Porque é que não me apaixonei por Paris?

Salvaguardo que fui viajar sozinha e embora isso facilite o cumprimento de objectivos de visita enquanto turista, torna mais difícil absorver os locais, já que não se tem ninguém com quem os partilhar. Salvaguardo ainda que vivi pouco à noite, período em que acho que a cidade deve ser mais bonita. Digo ainda que o que não me fascinou não foi a falta de beleza das ruas, edifícios e locais turísticos, mas…

Como já tinha sido avisada e ainda ouvi mais vezes durante a minha estadia, Paris não é tão romântica como nos filmes! Não é a Paris que vemos nos filmes e que lemos nos livros, e isso desilude…

Mas há mais razões…

A primeira e mais gritante, é a insegurança que senti. Tive logo um choque inicial no primeiro dia…o meu hostel era em Montmartre, parece que uma das zonas com pior frequência lá do sítio, e logo na primeira noite, depois de deixar as tralhas no hostel, decidi ir dar uma voltinha e senti-me bastante desconfortável! Mas se tivesse ficado por aí estava eu bem…senti insegurança em vários outros sítios e deve ter sido dos locais onde fui mais abordada na rua, por pessoas estranhas que entre me dizerem “Vous est trés Belle” e “Parlez vous Français?” me tentavam vender porcaria…não foi uma boa experiência para uma menina sozinha!

A minha ideia dos Parisienses já não era a melhor, escusado será dizer, que ainda piorou…Gente muito antipática em todos os serviços (exceptuando 3 situações – senhor que me vendeu bilhete para o Museé D’Orsay, menina que me vendeu bilhete para a Fondation Cartier-Bresson e polícia que numa ocasião me deu informações). Uma pessoa como eu, com conhecimentos básicos de francês e que se consegue desenrascar perfeitamente com a língua nas tarefas básicas que tinha para desempenhar como turista, fui sempre mal recebida, de uma forma extremamente mal educada! Para piorar, houve o episódio da queda numa Avenue des Champs-Élysées bastante concorrida…caí, de forma até espalhafatosa para proteger a máquina que trazia ao pescoço e fiquei ainda durante algum tempo sentada no chão e ninguém, mas mesmo ninguém, me veio perguntar se estava tudo bem!!!

Cidade caríssima! Tudo se paga e a preços bem altos…Os museus, fundações, galerias…a comida ao preço do ouro por mais básica que seja…o hostel mais caro e pior onde já fiquei na Europa!!! E tudo sob o manto espectacular do – “Estamos em Paris e cá as coisas são caras!” – a qualidade essa, não interessa!

É uma cidade com uma comunidade estrangeira grande, mas nada bem integrada. Era algo que talvez já esperasse, não fossem as políticas de emigração francesas e a vontade do Sarcozy de apertá-las ainda mais e mandar os estrangeiros embora (não sei se agora o Hollande encarará a coisa de outra forma), mas é gritante nas ruas a falta de integração e resultante miséria da comunidade estrangeira, e isso não esperava!

Existem parques, até bonitos, com alguma área verde, onde te proibem de te sentares na relva e ainda de entrar com animais ou com a bicicleta!

É uma cidade com imenso trânsito…Os carros e o nevoeiro que se fez sentir estragaram-me a maioria das fotos:/

Não desisti ainda de Paris. Deve ser um dos locais da terra com mais arte por metro quadrado e muita dela ficou por visitar. A próxima vez que lá voltar, fa-lo-ei no outono ou inverno – acho que estas estações do ano são capazes de tornar a cidade mais romântica, pelo menos aos meus olhos. Viverei mais de noite e fugirei dos locais turísticos, que desta vez tinha mesmo de visitar…