Tags

, , , , , ,

The last outdoors day was also the day the rain came…It wasn’t a big shower, but it was a lot worst than the one in my 1st festival, where it rained a lot more – but maybe that’s because I’m almost 10 years older! It was the day the gates opened late, I still don’t know why. It was the day I lost the first gigs in the line-up ’cause I was waiting in line for a ticket for the last day in Casa da Música (I was so, so close I couldn’t give up). It was the day Death Cab for Cutie cancelled right in the last minute.

I really, really just wanted to see The XX, even though I had been told their concert wasn’t very good; I also wanted to see Saint Ettiene. I was curious to see Death Cab for a Cutie (I didn’t know them, and I still don’t, but I have friends who love them), Spiritualized, The Weeknd and Kings of Convenience.

If you exclude the cancellation, I only didn’t love Kings of Convenience. I know most people say they gave a great gig, but I guess I just don’t like them…I have to listen to them now, to see if I change my mind. The Weeknd and Spiritualized were both pretty good.

I’ve managed to catch a little bit of I Break Horses (I liked it, one more on my “to know better” list) and Lee Ranaldo (I regret not having seen more of his gig, but what I’d really like was to see the whole of Sonic Youth together :/).

I also regret not having seen any bit of Washed Out’s gig – I’ve heard people saying it was great, I’ve read good reviews and I’ve seen very interesting videos – but I didn’t know anything about them, and my soggy clothes and tired self didn’t allow me to run between stages at that time anymore.

Saint Ettiene disappointed me – and it was the only gig in the festival I’ve managed to see in the front row:/ The lead singer Sarah Cracknell seemed really uncomfortable and everything else lost due to that fact.

The XX was the best of the day. Contrary to what I’ve been said, their gig was really good. Wonderful voices, and really sexy I must add (both the male and the female one), so comfortable together and with the music – top notch!

(the 1st to pics are from my cell phone – my camera is too precious to be taken out in the rain)

Spiritualized – and the wet audience

I Break Horses

Kings of Convenience

Saint Ettiene

The XX

O último dia ao ar livre foi o dia em que a chuva chegou…Não foi uma chuva em força, era uma chuva miudinha, mas olhem que a mim, talvez por já ter quase mais 10 anos em cima, me moeu mais do que a chuva do meu 1º Vilar de Mouros, que caiu com muito mais força! Foi um dia em que as portas abriram tarde, não me inteirei ainda porquê. Foi o dia em que perdi os primeiros concertos por não ter desistido de arranjar um bilhete para a Casa da Música (tava lá tão perto, caramba!). Foi o dia do cancelamento de Death Cab for Cutie mesmo em cima do momento.

Era o dia em que mesmo querer, só queria ver The XX, apesar de já me terem dito que os concertos deles não eram bestiais; queria também ver Saint Ettiene. Tinha curiosidade de ver Death Cab for Cutie (não conhecia, continuo a não conhecer, mas tenho amigos que são fãs), Spiritualized, The Weeknd e Kings of Convenience.

Das minhas curiosidades, tirando o cancelamento, só não gostei muito de Kings of Convenience. Eu sei que a maioria das pessoas adoraram, mas acho que não devo apreciá-los no geral…tenho de ouvir agora fora do concerto a ver se mudo de opinião. The Weeknd e Spiritualized conseguiram convencer-me.

Consegui ainda ver um bocadinho de I Break Horses (gostei, mais um na lista dos para conhecer melhor) e Lee Ranaldo (tive pena de não ver mais, apesar do que eu queria mesmo era ver os Sonic Youth todos juntos e não às pinguinhas :/).

Tenho pena de não ter visto nada de Washed Out – ouvi pessoas que gostaram muito, li críticas boas e vi vídeos interessantes – mas não conhecia e nessa altura, a molha e o cansaço acumulados, já não me deram energia para correr a ver um bocadinho mais de mais um palco e voltar ainda a tempo dos The XX.

Saint Ettiene desiludiu-me bastante e foi logo o único concerto do festival em que consegui ficar na primeira fila:/ A vocalista Sarah Cracknell parecia super desconfortável e tudo o resto perdeu muito para mim devido a esse pormenor.

The XX foi o ponto alto do dia. Contrariamente ao que me tinham avisado, o concerto deles foi bem fixe. Vozes fenomenais e muito sexy (ambas a masculina e a feminina), a jogar uma com a outra e com a música na perfeição – 5 estrelas!