Tags

, , , , ,

Now that Portugal is already in the semi-finals, I can dedicate myself completely in writing the last post about the festival😀

The day started with Nick Garrie’s gig. It was in Sala 2 in Casa da Música. A small room where people opted to seat on the floor. I didn’t know Nick Garrie before, but I’m a fan now! What a nice person, with loads of stories to tell, always accompanied by such beautiful music. It was like being home, listening to a friend telling his stories and playing guitar.🙂 I’ve become such a fan that I brought a cd home (autographed I shall say).

After a small pause for beer in the evening and dinner, it was time for Olivia Tremor Control’s gig, the only ones I knew from the day.

We’ve changed rooms for Sala Suggia (in Casa da Música also), where I’d never been. And it was a great premiere for me…great gig…a lot of people on stage with lots of energy…infectious! There was even a small collaboration with Jeff Mangum in one of the songs. The only bad things was that we were seating down and they didn’t let us take pics…

Without changing rooms and only with a small waiting period, it was time for Jeff Mangum on his own. I have to confess I’d never heard of him nor Neutral Milk Hotel. It started well with him telling people to come closer, so close that some of them were seating on stage next to him. I was far from the stage and wasn’t a fan, so I wasn’t in the mood to fight others for such a good place and I kept my original place. The songs are pretty and well played, reminding me a bit of Fleet Foxes. I only got a bit bummed when he (mostly by the way he said it) asked people to stop taking pics. I know the flash is distracting and the noise some cameras make can have the same effect, but I didn’t like it very much…

Nick Garrie

Agora que Portugal já está nas meias-finais, posso dedicar-me inteiramente ao último post sobre o festival😀

Apesar de ter sofrido bastante na espera incessante para conseguir bilhete para os concertos da Casa da Música, valeu bem a pena!

O dia começou com o concerto de Nick Garrie. Foi na Sala 2 da Casa da Música, uma sala pequena, onde as pessoas optaram por ficar sentadinhas no chão. Não conhecia Nick Garrie, mas fiquei fã! Que senhor tão simpático e com tantas histórias para contar, sempre musicadas por uma banda sonora tão bonita. Pareceu-me estar em casa com um amigo a contar histórias e a tocar guitarra.🙂 Fiquei tão fã que acabei por trazer um cd para casa (veio autografado, já agora).

Depois de uma pausa para fininhos ao fim da tarde e jantar, seguiu-se o concerto de Olivia Tremor Control, os únicos do alinhamento do dia que conhecia. Desta vez pude conhecer a Sala Suggia, onde ainda não tinha estado. E foi um grande concerto de estreia…muita gente em palco, todos com imensa energia…contagiante! Ainda com direito a uma pequena intervençao de Jeff Mangum numa das músicas. Pena os lugares sentados neste caso e não nos deixarem tirar fotos…

Sem mudar de sala e com um pequeno tempo de espera, foi a vez de Jeff Mangum ser chamado ao palco definitivamente e em nome próprio. Devo confessar que também nunca tinha ouvido falar do senhor, nem dos Neutral Milk Hotel. Começou logo bem quando ele chamou as pessoas mais para perto e este mais para perto incluia estar sentado no palco mesmo pertinho dele. Eu estava ainda longe do palco e não sou tão grande fã para me esforçar por passar à frente de quem é, por isso fiquei no meu lugar. As músicas são bonitas e bem executadas, a lembrar-me um pouco Fleet Foxes, mas só com um elemento. Fiquei só um bocado chateada quando ele (e pela forma como ele) pediu às pessoas que parassem de tirar fotos. Compreendo que os flashes e os barulhos de algumas máquinas incomodem, mas levei-lhe um bocadinho a mal…