Tags

, , ,

I was always a street art fan. I want to distinguish between street art and vandalism, although many time, what I consider street art is considered by some as vandalism…

Anyway…Before I lived in London, my knowledge about street art, in what concerns the names of the artists and identifying their work, was very slim. I think the only artists I knew by name were probably Basquiat and Banksy…

In London I was in contact with the work of several artists in an ever changing scene, with new works popping up almost every day, not only in the streets, but also exhibited in art galleries. Above all, I had the opportunity to get to know the artists’ names and identifying their work, and even to have my favourites. I owe that, to a large extent, to the guy who was responsible for the Alternative London Tours, that until today I knew only as Gary. Today, he had an article published in CultureCritic in which, once more, he helps improve random people’s knowledge about street art and well, I managed to write this whole post about it…

It’s reading things like this that I miss London tremendously!!!

Click to read the article…

Sempre fui fã de arte de rua. Quero deixar claro que quando falo em arte de rua, falo em arte de rua, e faço uma grande distinção entre arte de rua e vandalismo, mesmo que muitas vezes, o que eu considero ser arte de rua seja considerado vandalismo…

Anyway…O meu conhecimento sobre arte de rua era muito escasso, no que diz respeito a identificar artistas e o seu trabalho e antes de ter vivido em Londres, acho que os únicos artistas de rua que conhecia pelo nome, seriam o Basquiat e o Banksy…

Em Londres, tive contacto com o trabalho de imensos artistas de rua, com novos trabalhos na rua quase diariamente e também com exposições de artistas de rua dentro de galerias de arte. Tive sobretudo a possibilidade de ficar a saber o nome de muitos deles e hoje, tenho os meus preferidos e consigo identificar o trabalho de muitos deles. Devo isso, em grande parte, a alguém que até hoje só conhecia por Gary, criador da Alternative London Tours. Hoje foi publicado um artigo dele no CultureCritic, em que ele se dispõe mais uma vez a ampliar o conhecimento da pessoa alheia relativamente à arte de rua e bem, a mim saiu-me este post inteiro sobre o assunto…

E é quando leio estas coisas que me dá uma saudade imensa de viver em Londres!!!

Clica para leres o artigo…