Tags

,

Even of I know the Oscars are a strange kind of awards, without much credibility on their choices, I always view them as a pretext to watch some films on a deadline. This was the first year I can recall watching all the films in the main categories, with the exception of the foreign films. I decided to rant a bit about the subject…

I’m starting with a specific film, Les Miserábles.

I think the film suffered a lot at my eyes, because I’ve previously seen the musical in London. To make matters worse, I saw it when it was celebrating its 25th birthday on stage, starring the unknown to me, but seemingly awed Alfie Boe on the main role and Matt Lucas as an hilarious Le Thénardier. I loved the musical. I was expecting the film to be even more majestic, but it wasn’t.

The characters of Les Thénardiers didn’t captivate me. Neither did Russel Crowe. I liked the emotion on Hugh Jackman eyes, even if I did not love his voice’s timbre, but after a friend of mind told me Hugh Jackman’s voice had sounded as a goat to him, I can’t think about it without having a goat popping in on my thoughts. Anne Hathaway was OK, don’t know if Oscar worthy though. The only scenes that truly captivated me, were the ones where Gavroche was in, and I later found out, he was played by the same kid who played him in the musical, Daniel Huttlestone.

_50535027_mattlucas1 alfieboe2 anne-hathaway-les-miserables1 les-miserablesMesmo tendo noção que os Oscares são uns prémios estranhos, sem grande credibilidade nas escolhas, servem sempre de pretexto para ver alguns filmes com data limite. Este foi o primeiro ano que me lembro, em que consegui ver os filmes todos nas categorias principais, com a excepção dos filmes estrangeiros. Decidi, por isso, fazer algumas divagações sobre o assunto…

Vou começar com um filme em específico, Les Miserábles.

Acho que este filme sofreu muito aos meus olhos por eu ter visto anteriormente o musical em Londres. Vi-o, ainda por cima, aquando das celebrações dos 25 anos em palco, com o para mim desconhecido, mas ao que parece veneradíssimo, Alfie Boe no papel principal e o Matt Lucas no papel hilariante do Le Thénardier. Adorei o musical. Esperava que o filme fosse capaz de ser ainda mais espectacular, mas não foi.

Os Les Thénardiers não me cativaram. O Russel Crowe também não. Gostei da emoção nos olhos do Hugh Jackman, embora não tenha adorado o timbre da voz dele e, depois de um amigo me ter dito que a ele lhe soou como uma cabra, não consigo pensar no assunto sem pensar na dita cuja. A Anne Hathaway esteve bem, mas não tenho a certeza se merecerá o Oscar. As únicas cenas que realmente me cativaram foram as onde o Gavroche entrou e posteriormente percebi, que foi interpretado pelo mesmo actor em cena no musical a que assisti, Daniel Huttlestone.