Tags

, , , ,

…and how you have nothing to do at the hottest time of the day.

Yes, I know that people take time to do the siesta in Spain, but that’s not a habit cultivated by the Portuguese.

I spent two days in Pamplona by myself. Pamplona is a small city, and even though I really liked it, you can basically see it all in one morning (if you don’t go inside museums). At 2.30 pm I had seen everything and had had lunch (something that also takes less time when you’re by yourself), what to do till 5 pm?, the time siesta ends and shops open again.

I decided to calmly have a beer at the same place where I had lunch sitting on a very uncomfortable stool (considering I decided to fall on my back while I was getting down from the 2nd floor of my bunk bed in the morning and wasn’t in the best shape), while, for the first time, writing texts in advance for the blog!

I filled a bit more time by going for a coffee at the Hemingway Caffe, or so they publicise it – Cafe Iruña. It seems “The Sun Also Rises” was written in Pamplona and they really take advantage of the fact to promote the city.

I had another siesta related situation in Andalucía, when a friend of my friend who I was staying with, after lunch in the middle of a touristic day, wanted to take some time for the siesta and me and our Italian friend were full of energy and didn’t want to stop. It was enough for him to ask “que enfermedad tienen?” (What disease do they have?)…la siesta, la siesta! 😉

P1150866P1150836…e como se fica sem o que fazer nas horas de maior calor.

Sim, eu sei que em Espanha se faz a sesta, mas não é um hábito cultivado pelos Portugueses.

Os dois dias que passei em Pamplona foram passados sozinha. Pamplona é uma cidade pequena e embora tenha gostado muito dela, é possível ver mais ou menos tudo (se não se entrar nos museus) em pouco mais que uma manhã. Às 14h30 do primeiro dia já tinha visto tudo e almoçado (coisa que quando se está sozinha também se faz mais rápido), o que fazer então até às 17h00?, hora em que a sesta acaba e as lojas, o possível entretenimento para ocupação de tempo livre, voltam a abrir.

Pois bem, eu optei por beber um fininho, calmamente, no mesmo sítio onde almocei, num banco um bocado desconfortável (considerando que ao começar o dia, decidi cair de costas ao descer do segundo andar do beliche onde passei a noite e as minhas costas não estavam nas melhores condições – e não estiveram durante todo o resto das férias), enquanto pela primeira vez escrevia textos em antecedência para o blog!

Ainda ocupei um bocadinho mais de tempo com um cafézinho (muito pouco café, se é que me entendem) no que é publicitado como o café do Hemingway – Café Iruña. Parece que o “The Sun Also Rises” foi escrito em Pamplona e é uma das coisas usadas para promover a cidade.

Voltei a ter uma situação relacionada com a sesta, já na Andaluzia, quando um amigo da amiga em casa de quem estava alojada, depois do almoço, a meio de um dia de passeio, queria fazer a sesta e eu e o nosso amigo Italiano estavamos cheios de energia e prontos para continuar o passeio, ao que ele perguntou “que enfermedad tienen?”…ai, ai a sesta! 😉